Motion users can collaborate with members of their team and share reports with clients.

In order to protect the privacy of ad accounts and prevent TikTok's API from hitting limits, we require that each member or guest on a workspace connect to their own TikTok account to access TikTok reports on Motion. As a result, in order to view TikTok reports in any given Workspace you must have Admin Permissions to the corresponding Advertiser on TikTok.

As an example:

  • Mike was invited to collaborate on an Organization that has the TikTok data source Acme Inc connected to it. Mike also has Standard permissions to Acme Inc's advertiser on TikTok, so he is able to access it on Motion!

  • That same Organization has the TikTok data source A1 Inc connected to it as well. Mike doesn't have Standard permissions to A1 Inc's advertiser on TikTok, so he won't be able to access it on Motion.

In this circumstance, Mike will see the following in the Workspace pane of his Organization Settings:

How can Mike connect to A1 Inc's account? It is as simple as getting Standard permissions to A1's Advertiser through the TikTok account he's linked to Motion.

Method #1: Get Standard permissions to the respective TikTok account (Recommended)

The best way to connect to the account is to connect with the admin of the respective Facebook Ad Account and have them add you with Standard Permissions to the account through TikTok's Business Center.

Once done, Motion will automatically detect that you have the permissions and connect you to the account.

Method #2: Change the TikTok account connected to Motion (Not Recommended)

If you have a second TikTok account that has Admin Permissions to the TikTok Ad Account you'd like to see on Motion, you can also navigate to My Settings and connect to Motion with that account instead.

However, we do not recommend this approach unless your alternate account also has Standard permissions to the other accounts you access on Motion. The reason why is because Motion can only connect to one TikTok account at a time - and switching to a second one will cause you to lose access to other accounts on Motion that you don't have permissions to.

Did this answer your question?